Board Members | Dallas Firefighters Museum
Cartier has a long and distinguished horological history, and in recent years, the replica cartier watches brand has assumed a leading role among manufacturers creating innovative and complicated haute horlogerie timepieces. At the same time, the brand has launched several notable timepieces at lower price points, many of which have in-house movements. Here are five models we think merit special attention. Cartier Santos de Cartier Santos 100 To those familiar with Cartier watch history, the Santos name is practically synonymous with the brand name itself. In 1904, the famed aviator, Alberto Santos-Dumont, complained to his friend Louis Cartier about the difficulty of checking his pocketwatch while flying his aircraft. Cartier went to work, and his solution was almost certainly the replica cartier Ballon Bleu first wristwatch created specifically for an aviator. The innovation allowed Santos-Dumont to keep both hands on the controls while setting airborne speed records, which were determined by measuring the time taken to travel specified distances. Santos-Dumont was so taken with his Cartier wristwatch that he wore it religiously when flying. A commercial version of the Art Deco-style watch launched in 1911, and today Cartier offers three collections bearing the Santos name. Our featured watch is the Santos de Cartier Santos 100, and it is one of the most recognizable timepieces in the world. Cartier offers it in two sizes ¨C medium at about 44 x 35 mm, and large at about 51 x 41 mm (shown below). Both watches are powered by automatic-winding mechanical movements not manufactured by Cartier. The replica cartier santos medium model in steel on an alligator strap retails for $6,500, and the large version is priced at $7,300. Cartier Santos 100 The Cartier Santos 100 is an instantly recognizable design, and the large version is a strong presence on the wrist. The remainder of our selections feature Cartier¡¯s own manufacture movements. If you seek one of these, look no further than Cartier¡¯s recently released Tank MC. The ¡°MC¡± stands for Manufacture Cartier, signifying the movement¡¯s origins. Dating to 1917, the Tank design has certainly achieved icon status. Though it follows in a time-honored line, the Tank MC is an all-new design with modern dimensions. At 44 x 34 x 9.5 mm with slightly curved lugs, the Tank MC hits the Goldilocks ¡°just right¡± zone on the wrist, and it plays well with dress-shirt cuffs. The silvered flinqu¨¦ dial is exquisitely executed, and behind it you will find the in-house 1904-PS MC movement. The ¡°1904¡± represents the year Louis Cartier created the Santos watch, described above, and ¡°PS¡± signifies petite secondes. The 1904 MC calibers are constructed with twin mainspring barrels running in series to deliver more consistent torque over the 48-hour power reserve. The rotor is mounted on ceramic ball bearings, and it winds very efficiently in both directions. The movement is visible through a sapphire display back. The Tank MC in stainless steel on an alligator strap with a deployant buckle is priced at $7,000. Cartier Tank MC The Tank MC lets you enjoy Cartier¡¯s signature Tank look in a modern size with an in-house movement. The recently launched Calibre de Cartier Diver has received positive reviews for its looks, and its integrity (in both the physical and the moral sense). This watch is the third member of the Calibre de Cartier family, and in our opinion, the design codes work especially well in this iteration. The design is a distinctive departure in a sea of dive watch look-alikes. Some may feel that Roman numerals don¡¯t belong on a sports watch, but in this incarnation, they tell those in the know who made this watch. The Calibre de Cartier Diver¡¯s case measures 42 mm in diameter, and it is only 11 mm thick, which is slender for a 300-meter diver. It is powered by the in-house caliber 1904-MC. Given the Diver¡¯s resemblance to the Calibre de Cartier automatic, it¡¯s important to note that Cartier did not simply add a countdown bezel to that watch and call it a day. That would have been the easy, and perhaps the most profitable, approach. Kudos to Cartier for not taking the easy path. Instead, under the watchful eye of its resident horological guru, Carole Forestier-Kasapi, Cartier went much further than most manufacturers to insure that this watch has genuine dive-watch cred. Each watch is certified under ISO 6425, the official standard for any timepiece calling itself a dive watch. Among many other things, the certification means that every watch is tested to 125% of its rated depth before leaving the factory. Few manufacturers perform that level of testing.

Museum Board Members


“The purpose and mission of the Dallas Firefighters Museum is to provide the City of Dallas a thriving and well attended historical and educational asset. The Museum will teach fire safety, honor fallen heroes of the Department and preserve firefighting heritage.”


Rett Blankenship, Museum President - Captain, Station 11

Board Treasurer and Capital Campaign Chair - Sherwood Blount’s listing

Sherwood E. Blount, Jr., Capital Campaign Chair – President and CEO, Parkway Realtors

Ray Cherry, Board Secretary – Vice President of Sales, Dallas Security Systems


J. D. Travis, Head of Maintenance Division

Joe Piper – Firefighter/Paramedic

John Slate – City of Dallas Archivist

Darrell Scott, Box 4 Fire Buffs

Bill Manning, Box 4 Fire Buffs

Laurel Pitman – Captain, Life Safety

Daniel DeYear – Deputy Chief

Robert Simmons – Second Driver, Station 15

Marshall Pettway – Driver Engineer/Paramedic, Station 37

Denny Burris – Retired Chaplin

Mark Breidenbach – Firefighter/Station 19


Gary (Bubba) Benningfield, Retired, Dallas Fire-Rescue

Zip Crawford, Retired, Dallas Fire-Rescue

Terry May, Retired , Dallas Fire-Rescue

Donnie Rogers, Retired, Dallas Fire-Rescue

Mike Tennell, Retired, Dallas Fire-Rescue

Should you have a question for Rett Blankenship, Museum President or any of the Board members, please email the Museum at, and it will be directed to the correct person.  Be sure to include your name and email address to insure response.

More to follow…


© Dallas Firefighters Museum 2012 |